May 22, 2006

Reader Review of The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook

The best yet...

I love Dana's previous cookbooks, so I had to buy this as soon as I saw it. I've never posted a review on amazon, but I love this book so much I had to. I spend evenings paging through it trying to decide which recipe to make next, out of all the delicious recipes. They are easy too. Some recipes even have a wide variety of ingredients, which I love. I am part of a CSA (community supported agriculture) and I get some of those ingredients in my weekly boxes (fennel, leeks, radicchio, etc).

I've made the Bran muffins, gyros, lime ginger yogurt fruit dip and they were all delicious. Next is Tequila-Lime Chicken Skillet.

Like another reviewer said, she also has great nutrional information in the beginning of the book.

I'd recommend this book to everyone!

S. Huebner, Westby, WI, May 2, 2006

Thanks! I'm so glad you like it. We don't have a program like that here in Bloomington, that I know of, but we have a great farmer's market, and I love it!

You can order The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook at Amazon.

Or you can pick up a copy at your local bookstore!

If you already have a copy, we'd love to have you review it, too.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 10:31 PM

Reader Review of The Low-Carb Barbecue Book

Great BBQ and Grilling for Low Carbers

Dana Carpender has done it again with The Low-Carb Barbecue Book. I really have to say this is the book to have to create delicious, healthy summer foods!

Grilling is of course just about perfect low carb food - it involves fresh fish, fresh chicken, and lots of fresh vegetables. However, there are a few dishes in classic BBQ that are notoriously high carb, like potato salad and baked beans. Dana helps with everything.

There are of course the rubs and marinades, the instructions on grilling and BBQing (and how they differ). There are lots of great spice combos that can be helpful to new cooks, but are second-hand to experienced grillers.

Where the book really shines is in the side dishes and extras. The variety of mock-potato salad are great. There are various slaws and salads, plus a wide array of desserts.

The drinks section is fun but again, what low carb drinker doesn't know about mixing rum and diet coke? Is vodka plus sugar-free lemonade really worth a mention? I'd much rather have had those pages pointed at appetizers or more side dishes.

Still, summertime's parties and picnics will become much easier for low carbers who don't have to worry if something is OK to eat or not. By following the recipes in this book, you're sure to get a delicious dish that is truly low carb and healthy for you.

Highly recommended!

Lisa Shea, Massachusetts, June 4, 2004

Thanks,. Lisa!

The Low-Carb Barbecue Book

Posted by HoldTheToast at 10:19 PM

April 26, 2006

Reader Feedback on The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook

Jamie Gardner writes:

I was at Barnes and Noble yesterday and bought Every Calorie Counts. I had it pre-ordered from Amazon and was surprised to see it at the book store. I was anticipating this book so much I paid the difference rather than waiting for Amazon to ship it. This is by far my favorite book from her and I really like them all. So many recipes were still low carb enough to be eaten while still losing weight so that was a nice surprise. But, as a person who has to watch both carbs and calories, I have been waiting along time for a book just like this one. I couldn't find a single recipe I wouldn't make.

Thank you for the wonderful book. I have a feeling I should get a back up copy for it will probably become "well used". And thank you for sharing all this with us. I have never heard of any other low carb cookbook author that is so highly recommended. The recipes truly are fantastic.

Thanks, Jamie! I'm so glad you like it!

You can order The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook from Amazon, of course. You can also find it at your local bookstore!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:12 PM

Reader Review of 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes

Weight Loss With Quick, Delicious Meals!

In a motivated mood, I asked my doctor recently to give me a good diet plan so I could take off many unwanted pounds. He didn't skip a beat. He just said "try the Atkins' Diet." So, I did...and it is excellent! What a great way to lose weight, in a healthy manner, with a minimal amount of suffering. I am dropping pounds, not feeling hungry, and ready to experiment with low carbohydrate food recipes, as I have grown a little bored with broiled meats, fish, omelettes and plain salad.

I bought an Atkins' recipe book, and wanting more variety, I also picked up a copy of Dana Carpender's "15 Minute Low Carb Recipes: Instant Recipes For Dinners, Desserts and More." This book is wonderful - great meals, lunches and snacks in a jiffy. Many of the recipes call for inexpensive ingredients, which is great considering the expense of a high protein diet. Meat, fish and shellfish aren't cheap. Her skillet dinners are excellent. I have tried nine of the recipes so far and the results have been delicious. The meals have been easy to prepare and Ms. Carpender's tips and shortcuts cut down preparation time considerably.

I find that I am using this cookbook more than my Atkins book. There is so much variety that meals have become less boring. While losing weight is difficult, variety and food that tastes good make the process less painful. I highly recommend this compilation of creative, effortless low carbohydrate recipes.

Jana L. Perskie "ceruleana", New York, NY

Thanks, Jana!

To see this and other reviews of 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes, visit Amazon

You can order 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes while you're there, of course, or you can find it at your local bookstore.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:06 PM

April 18, 2006

The First Amazon Reader Review of The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook

LOVE IT!!!!

I had this pre-ordered here at Amazon but found it this past weekend at a bookstore and it was worth paying the difference and having it rather then waiting for it to ship. I love all of Dana's books, but by far this is my favorite. I wasn't sure what to think because of the title saying every calorie counts instead of "low carb" but it is a low carb cookbook, just better for OWL and maintenance, BUT, most everything in this book is 13g carb per serving and less (a lot between 4-8), even dishes with rice and whole wheat flour.

She mixes cauli-rice with wild rice and almond flour (meal) with whole wheat flour to keep carb counts low while giving us those grains we can add back once off induction. This is a book perfect for low carbers and for those watching carbs and calories alike. But it's the recipes that earn it 5 stars. Peachy rice (8g per serving) and tandoor chicken is what I made last night and they were delicious (and everything on my plate was 12g carb total). 3 meals like that keep me under my 40 grams daily carb allowance, and yet I enjoyed real rice last night.

I'm so happy to have this book. I know it is about to become the most used cookbook because everything appeals to my taste buds. Dana never disappoints us and this one is no exception. Low carbers, don't be fooled by the title, it is low carb. Maybe not low enough carb for induction, but perfect for the later stages of weight loss.

Thank you Dana!!!! And thank you for thinking of all of us who watch what we eat. Its so nice to have all these options for OWL. More recipes for those of us past induction, almost to goal weight or maintaining is always appreciated, especially for those of us who have had to count calories too. This is something not many low carb cookbook authors address and I'm so glad she did. Keep the cookbooks coming Dana!

Oops, it says 4 stars but I gave it 5! I would give it 10 if I could!

J. Gardner , March 8, 2006

Hmm. I wonder how I could get that extra star added...?

Thanks, J! I'm really pleased with how the book came out, myself. And rest assured: I will never, ever write a cookbook full of sugar and white flour. Never. As for keeping them coming, it's been six months since I turned in the manuscript for The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook, and I find I'm really missing being in recipe development mode. Time to think about writing another book.

To see this review, or to add a review of your own, visit Amazon.

You can also find The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook at your local bookstores.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 10:14 PM

April 08, 2006

The First Amazon Reader Review of The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook

LOVE IT!!!!

I had this pre-ordered here at Amazon but found it this past weekend at a bookstore and it was worth paying the difference and having it rather then waiting for it to ship. I love all of Dana's books, but by far this is my favorite. I wasn't sure what to think because of the title saying every calorie counts instead of "low carb" but it is a low carb cookbook, just better for OWL and maintenance, BUT, most everything in this book is 13g carb per serving and less (a lot between 4-8), even dishes with rice and whole wheat flour.

She mixes cauli-rice with wild rice and almond flour (meal) with whole wheat flour to keep carb counts low while giving us those grains we can add back once off induction. This is a book perfect for low carbers and for those watching carbs and calories alike. But it's the recipes that earn it 5 stars. Peachy rice (8g per serving) and tandoor chicken is what I made last night and they were delicious (and everything on my plate was 12g carb total). 3 meals like that keep me under my 40 grams daily carb allowance, and yet I enjoyed real rice last night.

I'm so happy to have this book. I know it is about to become the most used cookbook because everything appeals to my taste buds. Dana never disappoints us and this one is no exception. Low carbers, don't be fooled by the title, it is low carb. Maybe not low enough carb for induction, but perfect for the later stages of weight loss.

Thank you Dana!!!! And thank you for thinking of all of us who watch what we eat. Its so nice to have all these options for OWL. More recipes for those of us past induction, almost to goal weight or maintaining is always appreciated, especially for those of us who have had to count calories too. This is something not many low carb cookbook authors address and I'm so glad she did. Keep the cookbooks coming Dana!

Oops, it says 4 stars but I gave it 5! I would give it 10 if I could!

J. Gardner , March 8, 2006

Hmm. I wonder how I could get that extra star added...?

Thanks, J! I'm really pleased with how the book came out, myself. And rest assured: I will never, ever write a cookbook full of sugar and white flour. Never. As for keeping them coming, it's been six months since I turned in the manuscript for The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook, and I find I'm really missing being in recipe development mode. Time to think about writing another book.

To see this review, or to add a review of your own, visit Amazon

You can, of course, order a copy while you're there. You can also find The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook at your local bookstores.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:09 PM

Reader Review of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes

No Canned Cream of [Blank] Soup!

This is the only slow cooker cookbook I've actually not returned after reviewing and the best low-carb cookbook I've purchased. I've tried the "Broccoli-Bacon-Colby Quiche," "Mom's 1960s Chicken, Redux," and the "Mochaccino Cheesecake." All have been superb! So good in fact I recently recommended the cookbook to my Mother, who is a gourmet chef who doesn't eat low-carb but just got a slow cooker. It's that good!

SBD "sbd", Durham, NC February 9, 2006

Thanks, SBD! Hope your mom likes the book, too. I got a chuckle out of SBD's subject line. In the introduction to 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes, I mentioned that too many slow cooker books seem to think that "put food in pot, dump in canned cream of mushroom soup, and cook till you come home from work" is a recipe. Not my idea of good food.

Anyway, to see this and other reviews of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes, visit Amazon.

You can also find 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes at bookstores everywhere.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 08:53 PM

March 30, 2006

Early Word on The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook

Heather Dail writes:

Dana,

I've spent most of the week reading your latest, the "Every Calorie Counts Cookbook," and it is every bit as wonderful as the rest of your books. I have, use, and love them all.

Because of your books, the majority of my diet is made up of real, wholesome food. I have a family history of just about every disease there is, and I'm bound and determined to keep myself in the best possible health I can. That for me includes watching carbs, and your books show me a liveable, delicious way to eat controlled carb cuisine, for life, in every way. I have no doubt that I will get to my goal weight and enjoy optimal health.

You are always talking about your cookbook hero. Well, Dana, you are my cookbook hero! Your warm, witty voice comes through on every page, and your recipes are inspired and so varied. This reformed junk-food junkie is now cooking food that gives restaurant fare a run for its money. I can easily pass up fast food and processed crap knowing I have this kind of food in the fridge!

Oh, by the way: I am totally addicted to Cider-Ade now. Wow... who would have thought?! The beverage section alone is worth the price of the book, in my humble opinion!

Thanks again,

Heather

Yay! Thanks, Heather! So glad you like it. (And yeah, isn't it weird that Cider-Ade tastes so good? Who'da thunk it?)

You can preorder The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook at Amazon - they'll be shipping in a week or so - http://tinyurl.com/9jfk8

Or you can run out to Barnes & Noble and pick up a copy right away. (I hear Books-a-Million has it, too...)

Oh, and my cookbook hero? Peg Bracken, of the I Hate To Cookbook, The Appendix To the I Hate To Cookbook, The I Hate to Cook Almanac, and several others. Her books are often available at used book stores, because they were so hugely popular at the time. But Amazon also has copies of The Compleat I Hate To Cookbook.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:11 PM

Reader Review of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes

Just Wonderful!

Dana Carpender never fails to bring you delicious recipes for "every" low carb (LC) lifestyle. You will find this book versatile with a garden of recipe choices you never thought could be done in a slow cooker! Everything from hot dips to desserts (yes desserts) that will leave you asking "are you sure this is low carb"? She is a gift to those of us who know LC is the magic bullet we've all been looking for... I've lost over 100lbs eating Atkins LC and doing moderate exercise (1hr/3-5x/wk) and Dana's recipes have been my saving grace! This book is worth every penny and praised for every delicious morsel I've consumed while keeping every one of those 100 pounds "lost"!

Kat "Kat Paws Crochet" Chester, MD, , February 23, 2006

Wow! Over 100 pounds? You go, Kat!

See this and other recipes of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes at Amazon.

http://tinyurl.com/s5nzq

Or you can pick up 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes at your local bookstore.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:04 PM

March 22, 2006

More Early Word on The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook

Jamie Gardner writes:

I was at Barnes and Noble yesterday and bought Every Calorie Counts. I had it pre-ordered from Amazon and was surprised to see it at the book store. I was anticipating this book so much I paid the difference rather than waiting for Amazon to ship it. This is by far my favorite book from her and I really like them all. So many recipes were still low carb enough to be eaten while still losing weight so that was a nice surprise. But, as a person who has to watch both carbs and calories, I have been waiting along time for a book just like this one. I couldn't find a single recipe I wouldn't make.

Thank you for the wonderful book. I have a feeling I should get a back up copy for it will probably become "well used". And thank you for sharing all this with us. I have never heard of any other low carb cookbook author that is so highly recommended. The recipes truly are fantastic.

Thanks, Jamie! I'm so glad you like it!

So far as I know, Barnes and Noble is the only store that has The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook so far; if you really, really want it, you can run out and buy a copy!

Or you can pre-order at Amazon, and they'll send your copy as soon as they have it in.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 02:15 PM

Reader Review of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes

Just Wonderful!

Dana Carpender never fails to bring you delicious recipes for "every" low carb (LC) lifestyle. You will find this book versatile with a garden of recipe choices you never thought could be done in a slow cooker! Everything from hot dips to desserts (yes desserts) that will leave you asking "are you sure this is low carb"? She is a gift to those of us who know LC is the magic bullet we've all been looking for... I've lost over 100lbs eating Atkins LC and doing moderate exercise (1hr/3-5x/wk) and Dana's recipes have been my saving grace! This book is worth every penny and praised for every delicious morsel I've consumed while keeping every one of those 100 pounds "lost"!

Kat "Kat Paws Crochet" Chester, MD, , February 23, 2006

Wow! Over 100 pounds? You go, Kat!

To see this and other recipes of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes, visit Amazon

Or you can pick up 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes at your local bookstore.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 02:02 PM

Reader Review of How I Gave Up My Low Fat Diet and Lost 40 Pounds

Information and Guidance

I needed to make changes in how and what I was eating. A low-carb diet was strongly recommended by my doctors. This book gave a lot of useful information about how focusing on lowering carbohydrate intake, rather than reducing intake of fat and calories, can be a sensible way to improve ones health.

The author explains to a layman's level of understanding the how and why of low-carb eating. She also has a good section explaining the similarities and differences between the many highly publicized low-carb diets. Her cook books are wonderful- I have two-my family is reasonably satisfied with the overall change in our eating style. And the dietary changes have positively affected my health.

K. Wynne "exphile" Elizabehtown, PA, March 17, 2006

Thanks, K. When I started low carbing, there were very few books on the market, and they were all terribly technical - I mean, who wants to know from delta-6-desaturase? So I wrote the book that I wished I had had when I started out, and I'm glad you find it helpful.

To see this and other reviews of How I Gave Up My Low Fat Diet and Lost 40 Pounds, visit Amazon.

Or grab How I Gave Up My Low Fat Diet and Lost 40 Pounds at your local bookstore.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 01:50 PM

March 15, 2006

More Early Word on The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook

Jamie Gardner writes:

I was at Barnes and Noble yesterday and bought Every Calorie Counts. I had it pre-ordered from Amazon and was surprised to see it at the book store. I was anticipating this book so much I paid the difference rather than waiting for Amazon to ship it. This is by far my favorite book from her and I really like them all. So many recipes were still low carb enough to be eaten while still losing weight so that was a nice surprise. But, as a person who has to watch both carbs and calories, I have been waiting along time for a book just like this one. I couldn't find a single recipe I wouldn't make.

Thank you for the wonderful book. I have a feeling I should get a back up copy for it will probably become "well used". And thank you for sharing all this with us. I have never heard of any other low carb cookbook author that is so highly recommended. The recipes truly are fantastic.

Thanks, Jamie! I'm so glad you like it!

So far as I know, Barnes and Noble is the only store that has The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook so far; if you really, really want it, you can run out and buy a copy!

Or you can pre-order at Amazon, and they'll send your copy as soon as they have it in.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:22 PM

Reader Review of The Low-Carb Barbecue Book

Another great cookbook from Dana Carpender

I love all of the Dana Carpender cookbooks, and this one is no exception. Both her writing and cooking styles are a lot of fun, and I have yet to make a recipe I didn't like out of her books. The Chipotle Garlic Butter is already a favorite in our house, and we've only had the book a few days. The recipes are simple to follow with easy to find ingredients, and the results are delicious.

Nicolle (Carmichael, CA USA) , January 4, 2005

Thanks, Nicolle! I'm betting you get to cook out more of the year than I do.

I figured that with the crocuses (croci?) up and the daffodils about to bloom here in Indiana, it was about time to haul out the grill again. My whole Toastmasters Club is coming over next week; I'm thinking I'll slow-smoke a turkey!

To read this and other reviews of The Low-Carb Barbecue Book, visit Amazon.com

Or look for The Low-Carb Barbecue Book at a bookstore near you!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:17 PM

March 07, 2006

Reader Review of The Every Calorie Counts Cookbook

Okay, it's really an email I got, but it warmed my heart like a blowtorch:

Dana, I just received your new book from barnesandnoble.com.

To be honest, at first I was hesitant about ordering it, because I feared it was just another low calorie cookbook, but I've enjoyed all your other books and I knew I had to give it a chance.

I am glad to see your cooking evolving and acknowledging that calories do count. That said, I do not count calories; but I do know they count! I can't eat a ton of low carb food just because it's there, and not have it show up on the scale! For years I counted carbs, but now I don't even count carbs anymore. I educated myself about glycemic load and just focus on foods that have a low gylcemic load. This automatically keeps my carbs down without counting!

I am sitting here at work leafing through all the recipes, and yes, they are amazing. They will fit in very nicely with my way of eating. I might add I am lacto-ovo vegetarian, and I just substitute low carb meat substitutes (like Morningstar Farms) for meat, chicken and fish in your recipes, leaving out the salt because these meat substitutes are already salted.

I also agree that fat is not the culprit. I feel better eating good, wholesome fats. I don't limit them, but I don't stuff myself with them either. Butter, nuts, good oils, etc. are some of the healthiest foods on earth. THANK YOU for not buying into the low fat mantra. You might be

pleased to know that scientist Gary Taubes has a new book coming out this spring titled "A Big Fat Lie...What if Fat Doesn't Make You Fat." I'm sure you and I couldn't agree more!

Dana, thanks for such a great book. Please keep these cookbooks coming. They are such a joy. I already love this one and I haven't even tried any recipes yet, but like your other cookbooks, I know I'll enjoy them!

Sincerely, Sheryl Du Somme

Thanks, Sheryl! I'm so glad you like the book. The rest of you can take a look here

Or you can buy it today at your local Barnes & Noble!

(And I'll be buying Gary Taubes's book! If you haven't read Taubes's ground-breaking article from the NY Times Magazine, I found a link to the text

Posted by HoldTheToast at 10:51 PM

Reader Review of The Low-Carb Barbecue Book

Another winner!

My husband does the BBQing in our house, so I haven't gotten as much use out of this one as Dana's previous two cookbooks--but he's having a great time! I made the Lime Cheesecake with Ginger Almond Crust and it was wonderful--made it for some regular carbers and they didn't know the difference. So far everything he's BBQed has been great, too--my favorite however is the Orange-Tangerine Up-the-Butt Chicken. We couldn't find the tangerine Diet Rite, so my husband used beer with a bit of orange extract in it (left over from the Orange Blossom Turkey Breast--another winner--lots of leftovers--we used them for Mondo quesadillas from 15 minute low-carb recipes). There are so many slaws I can't wait to try them all, but we love Dana's original so much we haven't gotten around to it yet! My husband *loves* this cookbook--it has made his life so much easier (in the past, before he grilled he would consult his other grill books and always have to ask me "Can we eat this?")--he grills from it every weekend.

Jennifer (Texas) , May 14, 2004

Hey! My barbecue book got a rave from a Texan! Now I'm dying to know how she liked my Texas-style barbecued brisket recipe...

To see this and other reviews of The Low-Carb Barbecue Book, visit Amazon.com

Or take a look at The Low-Carb Barbecue Book at your local bookstore!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 10:41 PM

February 20, 2006

Reader Review of 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes

Great variety - excellent instructions - wonderful cookbook,

This low carb cookbook is truly fantastic! I've tried at least 10 of the recipes and all have become favorites. The chicken wraps are so good that when my partner recently ordered some at a popular restaurant, he said mine were better!

The recipes are tasty, easy, and quick (I take my time with them and always end up with a full dinner within 30 minutes). There is a great variety of dishes including vegetables, which helps to prevent boredom and to provide a wide variety of nutrients. A nutritional breakdown is included for each recipes and variations and side dishes are suggested. Low carb desserts and beverages are also provded, as are several slow cooker recipes - 15 minutes in the morning or the evening before leads to a great dinner waiting for you after work!

c8grey Chicago, IL, USA, June 8, 2005

Well, thanks, c8grey!

By the way, after two years on the market, and 52 reviews, 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes finally has a negative review at Amazon! And I'm kind of proud of it. The reviewer doesn't say the recipes aren't good, or the instructions aren't clear - just that the book doesn't have color photos in it (which is why the list price is under $20 - color is expensive!) And that I used outrageous, weird ingredients - you know, like lamb, or gorgonzola cheese. How awful that I didn't stick to ground beef, chicken, and blocks of cheap cheddar!

Anyway, read all the glowing reviews, and the one bad review, of 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes at Amazon.com

Or pick up 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes at your local bookstore - if you can live with a cookbook that just has good, quick, low-carb recipes, not expensive glossy color photos!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:50 PM

February 14, 2006

Best Review of All Low-Carb Approaches

This is greatly improved from the first edition. At first I didn't even realize I'd previously read this book.

Dana's review of the differences between the various approaches to low- or controlled-carbohydrate eating is so helpful. It made me realize that I've been too strict in the past when trying to do an Atkins-style "induction" phase. Dana is really on top of the science and gives you the references if you want to follow up, and she explains it all very clearly.

I'm most motivated at this time to go back to low-carb eating because of what she wrote about feeling better mentally as well as physically. I have had to admit to myself that I just can't eat sweets and breads etc.; those things are addictive to me and have definitely contributed to health problems (I'll spare you the details).

The criticisms about her treatment of vegetarianism are on the silly side. Dana could have gone into much greater detail about what's wrong with vegetarianism, but she didn't. Instead she chose to accommodate that view and made very helpful suggestions to those trying to be vegetarian and low-carb at the same time.

I highly recommend this book. I read it in just a couple of days and promptly misplaced it; I bought another copy to give to a friend who has diabetes, but I think I'll keep that one for myself and send him another from Amazon.

Jeanmarie Todd Oakland, CA, United States , June 6, 2005

Thanks, Jeanmarie, both for your kind words, and for buying multiple copies of my book!

See this and other reviews of How I Gave Up My Low Fat Diet and Lost 40 Pounds at Amazon.

Much as we love Amazon, you should know that How I Gave Up My Low Fat Diet and Lost 40 Pounds is available at brick-and-mortar bookstores, too.

And because some of you asked, I should also tell you that "brick-and-mortar" bookstores simply means actual retail bookstores you can walk into, rather than online booksellers! You know, Borders, Barnes & Noble, Walden, B. Dalton, or your local independent bookstore.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 12:10 PM

February 06, 2006

Reader Review of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes

You need Dana's books

How do I love Dana Carpender in a completely platonic low carb life saver kind of way? Let me count the ways. Her new cookbook is fabulous. If you don't have it, you simply must get it. So many great looking recipes. As soon as my copy arrived, I read it cover to cover and am about to read it again. We are trying a different recipe every night. We have tried several already and they are very good. We're gonna have another one tonight. I have all of her cookbooks and this one is fab. Her books offer a lot of variety of flavors, which is essential to keeping any way of eating interesting. I'm trying to broaden my taste horizons, and her books give me lots of options. I use her cookbooks everyday. I recommend them all the time, but I don't loan them out. I would be lost if I did! She makes low carb low effort, which makes my life significantly easier. Thanks Dana!

April Grow, Atlanta, GA, September 26, 2004

Wow! She loves me in a completely platonic low carb life saver kind of way! Never let it be said that I feel unappreciated. Thanks, April!

The coolest thing about 500 More Low-Carb Recipes is that fully half of the recipes in it come from Lowcarbezine! readers! It really is the collected culinary wisdom of the Low Carb Community. And I must say, as the recipes came in from readers, I often thought, "Geez, how am I going to come up with anything better than this?!"

See this and other reviews of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes at Amazon.com

Much as we love Amazon - and we do love Amazon! - 500 More Low-Carb Recipes is available at brick-and-mortar bookstores across America.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 08:44 PM

January 30, 2006

Another fabulous cookbook from Dana

Reader Review of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes

I have all of Dana's cookbooks. I like all of them and recommend them without reservation. That said, this one is my favorite (so far). I have been low-carbing for about 4 years now. Dana's books keep me sane and interested in low-carbing. Some of my favorite recipes from this book include: Cheesy Chipotle Soup (p.417). It is great on a blustery day or if you have a congested nose. General Pam's Cheesecake is super easy and using different extract flavors makes it a new experience every time (p. 500). Brussel sprouts in browned butter (p. 176). I have always like them but this twist makes them really wonderful; even my hubby commented on them. Island pork chops (p. 345) and Jill's coleslaw (p. 201) are also outstanding.

I have dozens of family favorites from each of her books. I'm never at a loss for something to cook.

Can't wait to receive her new slow cooker book.

S. Clark, Sacramento, CA

Thanks, S. Clark! Now you've got me wondering if I've got the ingredients for Cheesy Chipotle Soup in the house...

To see this and other reviews of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes, go to Amazon

Much as we love Amazon, (and we do love Amazon!,) it's good to know that 500 More Low-Carb Recipes is available at brick-and-mortar bookstores around the country.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 10:01 PM

January 23, 2006

Dana is my Heroine!

I recently bought this cookbook, and already own her Carb Counter, 500 Low Carb Recipes, and 15 Minute Low Carb Recipes. I love her writing style, and she's "been there, done that", as far as low-carbing goes. I have never made something that I didn't like from her books, and the recipes are easy to follow ~ I am no fancy cook. The Teriyaki Ribs were so good my DH wants me to do this instead of grilling them! I made her coleslaw recipe from the 500 Low Carb Recipes to go with it, and my family was in love, and I am the only low-carber in the bunch! I think the best testament to Dana I can give is, I ordered the other three cookbooks of hers I didn't have, today. I have gotten rid of any other author's LC cookbooks I have, as well. You ROCK, Dana!!!

S. Martin (FL, USA), April 11, 2005

See this and other reviews of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes at Amazon.com

Much as we love Amazon and we do love Amazon! Id be remiss not to let you know that 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes is available at bookstores across America.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:58 AM

April 22, 2005

Reader Review of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes

Dana Is My Heroine!

I recently bought this cookbook, and already own her Carb Counter, 500 Low Carb Recipes, and 15 Minute Low Carb Recipes. I love her writing style, and she's "been there, done that", as far as low-carbing goes. I have never made something that I didn't like from her books, and the recipes are easy to follow ~ I am no fancy cook. The Teriyaki Ribs were so good my DH wants me to do this instead of grilling them! I made her coleslaw recipe from the 500 Low Carb Recipes to go with it, and my family was in love, and I am the only low-carber in the bunch! I think the best testament to Dana I can give is, I ordered the other three cookbooks of hers I didn't have, today. I have gotten rid of any other author's LC cookbooks I have, as well. You ROCK, Dana!!!

S. Martin, (FL, USA), April 11, 2005

Well, gee, thanks! Both for the kind words, and for ordering my other books!!

To see this and other reviews of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes, or to leave a review of your own, go to Amazon.com

(But there are some other low-carb cookbooks I really like, especially my pal George Stella's new book., George Stella's Livin' Low Carb.)

200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes is available wherever books are sold.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 02:11 PM

Reader Review of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes

Best low carb author!

Like Dana's first tome, 500 LOW CARB RECIPES, 500 MORE LOW CARB RECIPES is my bible - I LIVE BY THESE!!! She is truly the most creative yet down-to-earth cookbook author I have had the pleasure of reading and using, ever. I honestly would not have been able to continue a low carb lifestyle without her books. She brings tremendous variety to my diet, and her recipes are accessible and delicious. This is a MUST-HAVE for anyone even remotely interested in low carb!

Mary C. Kribs, April 7, 2005

Wow, the best? Thanks, Mary!!

Folks, if you're happy with the results of your low carb diet, but bored to tears with what you're eating, you know having 500 recipes is going to help! To read this and other reviews of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes, or to leave a review of your own, visit Amazon.com

But keep in mind, you can get 500 More Low-Carb Recipes wherever books are sold.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 01:54 PM

April 01, 2005

Reader Review of 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes

Excellent Even For Those Not Pushed For Time

I have recently discovered slow cooking and this book is fantastic, even though I have more time to cook in the oven I find the process of slow cooking so much more tasty, and it makes the meat more tender. A favourite at the moment is the sweet and sour pork, suitably de-carbed of course, I have got into the habit off putting the slow cooker on late at night and then having the food ready to take as a packed lunch in the morning. Pot poasts which I never managed to get just right are now meltingly beautiful, Dana as usual provides a wonderful cookbook

A. Campbell "ailsa" (london) February 13, 2005

Thanks, Ailsa!! Glad you're enjoying it!

To see this review, or write a review of your own, visit Amazon.com

(Indeed, we could use some more reviews! If you have 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes and like it, please take a moment to go to Amazon and say so. If you have 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes and hate it, we're hoping you'll keep your mouth shut. ;-D)

Please be aware that Amazon.com is not the only place you can get 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes! It's available at bookstores and mass merchandisers everywhere.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 02:29 PM

Reader Review of The Low-Carb Barbecue Book

Great BBQ and Grilling for Low Carbers,

Dana Carpender has done it again with The Low-Carb Barbecue Book. I really have to say this is the book to have to create delicious, healthy summer foods!

Grilling is of course just about perfect low carb food - it involves fresh fish, fresh chicken, and lots of fresh vegetables. However, there are a few dishes in classic BBQ that are notoriously high carb, like potato salad and baked beans. Dana helps with everything.

There are of course the rubs and marinades, the instructions on grilling and BBQing (and how they differ). There are lots of great spice combos that can be helpful to new cooks, but are second-hand to experienced grillers.

Where the book really shines is in the side dishes and extras. The variety of mock-potato salad are great. There are various slaws and salads, plus a wide array of desserts.

The drinks section is fun but again, what low carb drinker doesn't know about mixing rum and diet coke? Is vodka plus sugar-free lemonade really worth a mention? I'd much rather have had those pages pointed at appetizers or more side dishes.

Still, summertime's parties and picnics will become much easier for low carbers who don't have to worry if something is OK to eat or not. By following the recipes in this book, you're sure to get a delicious dish that is truly low carb and healthy for you.

Highly recommended!

Lisa Shea, Massachusetts, June 5, 2004

To see this and other reviews of The Low-Carb Barbecue Book, visit Amazon.com.

Please be aware that you can get The Low-Carb Barbecue Book at any good bookstore!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 02:23 PM

Reader Review of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes

Another fabulous cookbook from Dana

I have all of Dana's cookbooks. I like all of them and recommend them without reservation. That said, this one is my favorite (so far). I have been low-carbing for about 4 years now. Dana's books keep me sane and interested in low-carbing. Some of my favorite recipes from this book include: Cheesy Chipotle Soup (p.417). It is great on a blustery day or if you have a congested nose. General Pam's Cheesecake is super easy and using different extract flavors makes it a new experience every time (p. 500). Brussel sprouts in browned butter (p. 176). I have always like them but this twist makes them really wonderful; even my hubby commented on them. Island pork chops (p. 345) and Jill's coleslaw (p. 201) are also outstanding.

I have dozens of family favorites from each of her books. I'm never at a loss for something to cook.

Can't wait to receive her new slow cooker book.

S. Clark , Sacramento, CA, December 27, 2004

Thanks, S. Clark! Hope you like the slow cooker book, too!

I'm so glad you pointed it out - my recipes are remarkably family-friendly. No cooking two meals, and you can get the spouse and kids eating healthier without them even realizing it!

Read this and other reviews of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes at Amazon.com

If you have 500 More Low-Carb Recipes and like it, how about taking a minute to write a review?

Remember, 500 More Low-Carb Recipes is available at bookstores everywhere, and even at a lot of mass-merchandisers!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 01:33 PM

February 13, 2005

Reader Review: 500 More Low-Carb Recipes

Dana keeps me on track!

Out of all the low-carb cookbooks saturating the market for the last year or so, Ms. Carpender's books are by far the most valuable and user friendly. I cut out sugar and starches almost two years ago, and if it weren't for these cookbooks, I'd have fallen off the wagon long ago. 500 More Low-Carb Recipes is chock-full of delicious concoctions that are easy to make and even better to eat! Many of the recipes make use of simple, fresh, REAL FOOD ingredients and require a minimal amount of prep and cook time. Dana always explains a recipe perfectly, so you're never caught off-guard with a recipe that takes longer than you thought to prepare. I have no patience for those low-carb naysayers who say that you have to eat the same food all the time with this way of life. If you bought this cookbook, you'd be given an amazing array of incredible, healthy food choices for you and your family to eat for a very long time!

trixiekat, December 21, 2004

Thanks, trixiekat! To read this and other reviews of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes visit Amazon.com - and if you have it, we'd love for you to review it!

500 More Low-Carb Recipes is available wherever books are sold.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 12:52 PM

January 18, 2005

Reader Review of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes

Dana keeps me on track!

Out of all the low-carb cookbooks saturating the market for the last year or so, Ms. Carpender's books are by far the most valuable and user friendly. I cut out sugar and starches almost two years ago, and if it weren't for these cookbooks, I'd have fallen off the wagon long ago. 500 More Low-Carb Recipes is chock-full of delicious concoctions that are easy to make and even better to eat! Many of the recipes make use of simple, fresh, REAL FOOD ingredients and require a minimal amount of prep and cook time. Dana always explains a recipe perfectly, so you're never caught off-guard with a recipe that takes longer than you thought to prepare. I have no patience for those low-carb nay-sayers who say that you have to eat the same food all the time with this way of life. If you bought this cookbook, you'd be given an amazing array of incredible, healthy food choices for you and your family to eat for a very long time!

trixiekat, December 21, 2004

Thanks, trixiekat! I do make a real effort to use real, easy-to-find food, and keep the recipes clear and approachable. Glad it's working!

To see this review and others, or to write your own review, visit Amazon.com

That being said, you can find 500 More Low Carb Recipes wherever books are sold.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:46 PM

Reader Review of 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes

First Low Carb Book I've Ever Bought.. And Probably the Last

I hate to go along with the crowd, but this really is a fine book. The recipes are tasty, quick to prepare and low carb. Can't really ask for more from a cookbook.

I'm on South Beach, which has lower saturated fat limits than Atkins, so I make only occasional use some of the recipes that call for sausage, bacon and higher fat cheeses. But there's plenty of low saturated fat recipes included as well.

Some of my favorite recipes are actually for making your own low carb condiments and sauces. The stir-fry sauce has greatly increased my daily vegetable consumption. Also included are recipes for things like Asian dipping sauce, "honey" mustard (no actual honey, of course), remoulade sauce for sea food, and even recipes for low carb ketchup and BBQ sauce.

Highly recommended.

elitusprime Meridian, ID, October 26, 2004

Thanks, elitusprime! Glad you like it. Though I will say I hope you try 200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes, at any rate... :-)

To read this and other reviews of 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes, visit Amazon.com

Much as we love Amazon, we should point out that 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes is available at bookstores and mass-merchandisers everywhere - I've seen it at Target, and know it's been at WalMart and Costco, too!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:35 PM

December 19, 2004

Reader Review of 500 More Low Carb Recipes

More great stuff!

My favorite low carb cookbook was Dana's first, 500 Low Carb Recipes. Now this will be my second favorite, probably. The Guacamole Eggs, the Unpotato and Sausage Soup, and several of the Quiche recipes are already family favorites.

One thing about Dana's books: there's something for everyone! She has many vegetarian dishes, and stuff like graham crackers and spoon bread, that help people realize there's more to low carbing than bacon with bacon. And using her great instructions, I'm finally making omelettes like a pro.

This is a great gift for good cooks, and those, (like me) who are aspiring to that state. And the ingredients aren't that exotic...most of the recipes use ingredients you have around anyway.

All in all, a fantastic followup.

Pamela R. Merritt Saranac Lake, NY, November 30, 2004

Thanks, Pamela! See, omelets really are easy. ;-D

To read this and other reviews of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes, click here.

We love Amazon.com, but would be remiss if we didn't tell you that 500 More Low-Carb Recipes is available at bookstores everywhere, and even through many mass-merchandisers - Target, among others, is carrying it. And remember, it makes a great gift for your low carbing friends and family members!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 12:18 PM

December 03, 2004

Reader Review: 500 More Low-Carb Recipes

More great stuff!

My favorite low carb cookbook was Dana's first, 500 Low Carb Recipes. Now this will be my second favorite, probably. The Guacamole Eggs, the Unpotato and Sausage Soup, and several of the Quiche recipes are already family favorites.

One thing about Dana's books: there's something for everyone! She has many vegetarian dishes, and stuff like graham crackers and spoon bread, that help people realize there's more to low carbing than bacon with bacon. And using her great instructions, I'm finally making omelettes like a pro.

This is a great gift for good cooks, and those, (like me) who are aspiring to that state. And the ingredients aren't that exotic...most of the recipes use ingredients you have around anyway.

All in all, a fantastic followup.

Pamela R. Merritt Saranac Lake, NY

To read this and other reviews of 500 More Low-Carb Recipes, visit Amazon.com: http://tinyurl.com/42ces

For that matter, if you already have 500 More Low-Carb Recipes, and you like it, go review it!!

Of course, you can also find 500 More Low-Carb Recipes at bookstores everywhere, not to mention at Target and Walmart! Dare I suggest that it would make a great gift for all the low carbers on your list? The original bestseller 500 Low-Carb Recipes, 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes, and The Low-Carb Barbecue Book would all be great gifts for your low-carb friends and family, as well.

Posted by HoldTheToast at 02:44 PM

October 06, 2004

Really Long Reader Review of 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes

Indispensable cookbook for my low-carb lifestyle

Well, now she's gone and done it: I'm in love with cooking again. At least this time, it won't result in the extra poundage.

Dana Carpender is the straight talking diva of the modern Low-Carb movement and in her latest cookbook, 15-Minute Low-Carb Recipes, she really delivers on her promise. Thank goodness that some authors do realize that just because people want to lose weight and be healthier doesn't necessarily mean that they suddenly have an hour to spend in the kitchen getting dinner ready every night! If a low-carb convert only bought this book and The Everyday Low Carb Slow Cooker cookbook by Broihier and Mayone, he/she would do very well and have every base covered cooking for themselves and their families, for *all* three meals plus desserts. Here's a sampling of my (so far) favorites from Dana's cookbook:

Egg Foo Yong (like what it sounds, really more of an omelet but very sophisticated)
Jalapeno Lime Scallops
Salmon in Ginger Cream (fresh, simple and tastes gourmet)
Asian Pork and Cabbage (I always used to hate cabbage, but now I look forward to it)
Chicken Chili Verde (my carb-eatin' family spoons it into tortillas, I just devour it straight - a family-praised dish)
Italian Sausage w/ Onions and Peppers
Brewery Chicken with Vegetables

Here's a weird fact: although these recipes make liberal use of prepackaged foods (such as frozen and canned veggies, jarred minced garlic, bagged salad greens, seasoning blends, baking mix, etc) and spices for time-cutting, most of them also make liberal use of fresh veggies along with the omnipresent meat and eggs. Really, I eat more fresh-cooked veggies now that I have this cookbook than ever before. She's even gotten me to try "new" vegetables, like turnips, which I never would have used in my high-carb days. Yup, I am now a culinary swank, my friend.

The author has a no-nonsense, conversational style that let me know right away that not only has she "been there, done that" but that she isn't the type to waste her own time much less mine. There's an introductory section in which Dana preps the cook on her timesaving cooking techniques and tips on what and how to stock a low-carb pantry to make it even more convenient. I strongly suggest that you read this section first, as it will really help you streamline your speed-cooking sessions. The next most important section is the Omelet section, in which the secrets to a foolproof omelet are revealed. Really and truly, if you follow her method (well it's not actually Dana Carpender's method but one I've seen chefs on food network demonstrate before) you will be able to make perfect omelets for breakfast every time, which of course is indispensable in the low carb diet. The cookbook is then divided into sections based on the main meat being cooked, plus all-in-one skillet recipes, and side dishes that sub for the more traditional (read: carby) options like mashed potatoes and rice.


Okay that's enough babble for one review. Let's just say that I urgently recommend this cookbook to anybody who is trying to maintain a low-carb lifestyle and/or still keep their family happy at mealtimes. It works, you'll be happy and you may win a few more converts to low-carb along the way.

A. Ryan "Merribelle" Westminster, CA


"Straight talking diva of the modern low carb movement," hey? I like that!! Thanks!

To see this and other reviews of 15 Minute Low-Carb Recipes, visit http://tinyurl.com/6sxga

Available not only through Amazon, but at bookstores everywhere!

Posted by HoldTheToast at 09:31 PM